Fracture by Megan Miranda (Book 1 Fracture Series)

By the time Delaney Maxwell was pulled from a Maine lake’s icy waters by her friend, Decker Phillips, her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. But somehow Delaney survived—despite the brain scans that show irreparable damage. Everyone wants Delaney to be fine, but she knows she’s far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can’t control or explain, Delaney now finds herself drawn to the dying, and when she meets Troy Varga, a boy who recently emerged from a coma with the same abilities, she is relieved to share this strange new existence. Unsure if her altered brain is predicting death or causing it, Delaney must figure out if their gift is a miracle, a freak of nature—or something else much more frightening….

The plot of this novel is very similar to The Body Finder Series by Kimberly Derting, but has thrilling psychological aspects that make it unique. The story is told from Delaney Maxwell’s POV as she tries to navigate the ups and downs of life after death, literally. Fracture is an apt title in many respects. Throughout the story we see the fracturing of Delaney’s home life, friendships, and her own sanity.

There’s a really nice plot twist that I did not see coming, which is rare for me and young adult books in general. There is the usual romance: guy best friend – she’s in love with him, he’s in love with her – will they or won’t they? – and the requisite, but not typical, love triangle. Definitely a good read and I look forward to the companion novel, Vengeance, which will be published in 2014.

Age 12+

Publisher: Walker Childrens (January 2012)

ISBN: 9780802723093

Available as an eBook

Image from

FTC Full Disclosure: I received my review copy from the local library.